Last modified: 2014-11-20 17:33:22 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 67967 - Flow contains obscure "suppress" terminology
Flow contains obscure "suppress" terminology
Status: NEW
Product: MediaWiki extensions
Classification: Unclassified
Flow (Other open bugs)
master
All All
: Unprioritized normal (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
https://translatewiki.net/wiki/Thread...
: i18n
Depends on:
Blocks: messages 60680
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2014-07-14 00:15 UTC by Nemo
Modified: 2014-11-20 17:33 UTC (History)
7 users (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Nemo 2014-07-14 00:15:25 UTC
The difference between the various actions is unclear, unexplained, undocumented, probably inconsistent with core. Affected messages include:

Flow-suppress-post-content
Flow-hide-post-content
Flow-delete-post-content
Flow-suppress-post-content

Reported by Lokal Profil at https://translatewiki.net/wiki/Thread:Support/About_MediaWiki:Flow-suppress-post-content/sv
Comment 1 Danny Horn 2014-07-14 21:44:27 UTC
Filed in backlog: https://trello.com/c/JUCGwO1K

Thanks for the report!
Comment 2 Matthew Flaschen 2014-11-20 17:28:39 UTC
My understanding is that 'suppress' serve the same purpose as wikitext suppression (https://www.mediawiki.org/wiki/Help:RevisionDelete / https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Suppression ).

Essentially, it's an extra-powerful version of deletion granted to the 'oversight' group.
Comment 3 Matthew Flaschen 2014-11-20 17:33:22 UTC
I believe the others are conceptually consistent with core too:

* Hide - Logically (and permission-wise) equivalent to clicking edit on a wikitext talk page, removing a talk page post , then clicking save.  In other words, it's no longer readily accessible, but still fully in the history and viewable by non-privileged users.

* Delete - Essentially the same as regular admin deletion of a wikitext page.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links