Last modified: 2013-11-20 14:50:05 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 57218 - Get rid of "Do not forget to change your <wiki name> preferences."
Get rid of "Do not forget to change your <wiki name> preferences."
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
User login and signup (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: Normal enhancement (vote)
: 1.23.0 release
Assigned To: Mayank Madan
: easy
Depends on:
Blocks: messages
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2013-11-18 23:45 UTC by This, that and the other (TTO)
Modified: 2013-11-20 14:50 UTC (History)
2 users (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description This, that and the other (TTO) 2013-11-18 23:45:46 UTC
After creating an account, you are told:

  == Welcome, <username>! ==

  Your account has been created. Do not forget to change your <site name>
  preferences.

  Return to <some page>.

This is about the worst possible call to action - why would most users, straight after creating an account, suddenly want to visit a page containing several tabs full of settings, most of which are completely baffling to a totally new user?

If we keep it, we need to at least get rid of "do not forget". It really doesn't matter if you forget to change preferences.
Comment 1 Steven Walling 2013-11-18 23:55:21 UTC
Agreed. 

FYI: I believe that right now no Wikimedia project is delivering this message? Either [[mw:Extension:GettingStarted]] is installed or CentralAuth is redirecting them back to where they were.
Comment 2 This, that and the other (TTO) 2013-11-19 00:16:19 UTC
(In reply to comment #1)
> FYI: I believe that right now no Wikimedia project is delivering this
> message?
> Either [[mw:Extension:GettingStarted]] is installed or CentralAuth is
> redirecting them back to where they were.

Yes. This bug only applies to non-WMF installations of MediaWiki; I saw this message when creating an account on Minecraft Wiki yesterday.
Comment 3 Nemo 2013-11-19 12:36:16 UTC
Adding many blockers of bug 38638 to the list of "easy" bugs, to mark them as candidates for [[mw:Google Code-in]] tasks (gci2013). If you think this bug is not suitable, remove the keyword.
Comment 4 Gerrit Notification Bot 2013-11-20 07:45:24 UTC
Change 96445 had a related patch set uploaded by Mayankmadan:
Changing the welcome message after signing up

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/96445
Comment 5 Gerrit Notification Bot 2013-11-20 14:48:42 UTC
Change 96445 merged by jenkins-bot:
Changing the welcome message after signing up

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/96445
Comment 6 Bartosz Dziewoński 2013-11-20 14:50:05 UTC
Fixed as part of GCI task.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links