Last modified: 2012-11-03 18:44:38 UTC
There is a real problem with the CentralAuth extension, and especially with the "global oversight" feature.
I noticed in the past that sometimes oversighting an account globally won't remove stuff in the logs on local wikis (mainly newusers, deletion and block log). I noticed that when restoring a global account, the entries that were previously oversighted by CentralAuth are not restored.
But I've never seen things like that. Now, when you oversight an account, it is not removed from [[Special:ListUsers]].
If you want to know exactly the users I'm speaking about, please contact me privately.
That's really something critical, so I think that something should be done to fix the multiple issues with this extension as soon as possible. Thanks by advance.
Making a 1.19 blocker since it looks like this is the result of deploying 1.19 to Meta.
Local suppression blocks works, so I assume CA is probably not inserting the local suppression blocks on all the wikis, or at least not properly.
Is it just Special:ListUsers as far as you know?
SpecialBlockList, SpecialActiveusers, ApiQueryUsers, ApiQueryBlocks, and ApiQueryAllUsers all use the same method of filtering, so should probably be double checked.
It's everywhere. I already discovered the bug. It seems to have been broken since the block refactoring in 1.17. The local user ID is new longer used in the Block constructor and it tries to get the ID for the *metawiki* user with the name.
I can see blocks for names that should be hidden in the DB, but their ipb_user field is 0, which makes all the JOINs not find them (e.g. ListUsers).
Should be fixed in r112563.
closing. reopen if it isn't.
Note that effected users will need to be reblocked.
Hello. Some of the globally oversighted users are still displayed on the local user lists. I don't know if there's the same thing on some other pages, but please consider this :
Thanks by advance
(In reply to comment #9)
> Hello. Some of the globally oversighted users are still displayed on the local
> user lists. I don't know if there's the same thing on some other pages, but
> please consider this :
> Thanks by advance
Did you unblock and reblock the user? See comment #8.
I unlocked and relocked the user, it still appears in the list.
Should I unoversight and reoversight ?
If so, I'm not really comfortable with this because oversighted stuff will show up on IRC channels and logs unnecessarily.
Isn't there anyway to correct this directly from the database ? This is a technical problem, so I think it should be solved technically.
Hi Quentinv57, I'm resolving this issue, and referring future log work to bug 34995. I think that's a manual cleanup exercise that is very different than what is described at the top of this bug.