Last modified: 2013-06-18 16:08:34 UTC
Regarding http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MediaWiki:Helppage , in
>Odd, for deleted MediaWiki:Helppage$, I can see its contents, (but not its history). Jidanni$ (talk$) 23:29, 11 June 2009 (UTC)
> That's not the deleted content, it's the current (default) content. Deleting a system message restores the MediaWiki default settings. Algebraist 23:31, 11 June 2009 (UTC)
So for the MediaWiki Namespace, it is utterly confusing.
Either don't give the "Deleted" message, or add more explanation.
But it has been deleted so you have to show it, all default system messages can be noticed because in the mediawiki ns they show a shaded background (gray iirc) behind them.
Grey means different things to different people.
You need to say what you mean via a message.
Here apparently you need to say
"it has been killed, so the default has been restored, back alive and well".
Also grey is not visible in text browsers.
The page is deleted, there is nothing different about that in the MediaWiki namespace.
It doesn't come back alive when you delete it.
When you view a Message page you see the value that the system will use for that message.
If no wiki page by that name exists, the system will use the value as provided by the localisation files (/language/messages/*.php files)