Last modified: 2009-03-26 16:50:24 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 17854 - For RevisionDelete: Unsuppression is logged in the deletion log, not the suppression log
For RevisionDelete: Unsuppression is logged in the deletion log, not the supp...
Status: RESOLVED WORKSFORME
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Page deletion (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: Normal normal (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
Depends on:
Blocks: 15644
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2009-03-08 09:09 UTC by Dominic
Modified: 2009-03-26 16:50 UTC (History)
2 users (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Dominic 2009-03-08 09:09:17 UTC
When I undo suppression of a revision, the action gets logged in the deletion log, even though the original suppression gets logged in the suppression log. This creates misleading results when using [[Special:Log/suppress]], since it's impossible to tell that something was unsuppressed from the log without checking the page's deletion log as well.
Comment 1 Mike.lifeguard 2009-03-19 13:55:02 UTC
(In reply to comment #0)
> When I undo suppression of a revision, the action gets logged in the deletion
> log, even though the original suppression gets logged in the suppression log.
> This creates misleading results when using [[Special:Log/suppress]], since it's
> impossible to tell that something was unsuppressed from the log without
> checking the page's deletion log as well.
> 

Perhaps the suppression log could show the set of deletion & suppression events? Alternatively, you could log unsuppression in both.
Comment 2 Aaron Schulz 2009-03-19 19:41:20 UTC
This should not be the case, unless some check is broken
Comment 3 Aaron Schulz 2009-03-19 19:44:57 UTC
I can't reproduce this
Comment 4 Aaron Schulz 2009-03-23 21:25:26 UTC
Closing (works on svn head at least)
Comment 5 Dominic 2009-03-26 11:19:19 UTC
Maybe I didn't explain it well; it is reproducible for me. This happens when I use the "Suppress data from administrators as well as others" box from the deletion page, and then restore from Special:Undelete. Basically, delete+suppress  logs the action in the suppression log, but not the deletion log (which I think is the correct action), but restore+unsuppress (i.e., clicking the "restore" option on a suppressed article from Special:Undelete) logs the action in the deletion log but not the suppression log. These two create unbalanced logs as a result. For example, at http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Special:Log&page=User%3ADominic%2F there is a restoration with no corresponding deletion, because the original deletion was suppression-deletion. The suppression log for the page (not public) also has only a suppression and not the corresponding unsuppression.
Comment 6 Aaron Schulz 2009-03-26 16:50:24 UTC
Oh, *page suppression*. In that case, I suppose a quick hack would be to scrap the suppress log to decide what log to put the restoration event in...

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links