Last modified: 2013-03-06 08:18:55 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 17177 - Edit conflict diff is backwards
Edit conflict diff is backwards
Status: RESOLVED WONTFIX
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Page editing (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: Low minor with 1 vote (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
: design
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2009-01-27 13:22 UTC by Gurch
Modified: 2013-03-06 08:18 UTC (History)
4 users (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Gurch 2009-01-27 13:22:01 UTC
When previewing changes to a page, the stored version is shown on the left and your proposed changes on the right. When viewing the diff of an edit, the previous version is shown on the left and the new version on the right.

However, the edit conflict page shows the stored version on the *right* and your proposed changes on the *left*. This is backwards compared to the other two cases.
Comment 1 Karun 2012-01-18 17:33:14 UTC
I am not sure if there are any problems with the order in which it is displayed on the edit conflict page, as they are different cases. For me, it looks ok with my version on the left, and the stored version on the right, for the edit conflict pages. 

I dont think they need to be consistent as previewing changes and viewing the diff, are different cases from an edit conflict.
Comment 2 Nemo 2013-03-06 08:18:55 UTC
The current behaviour is correct, if nothing else because the text on the right is what you'd get by submitting, i.e. the new stored text (conflicting with your edit), loaded in the edit area.
You have to manually recover your edits from the text at the bottom, so the diff correctly shows the situation and what needs fixing.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links