Last modified: 2010-05-15 15:37:33 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 1977 - Update installer should change $wgDisableUploads to $wgEnableUploads
Update installer should change $wgDisableUploads to $wgEnableUploads
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Installer (Other open bugs)
1.5.x
All All
: High normal with 1 vote (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
Depends on: 578
Blocks: 2377
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2005-04-25 23:33 UTC by Rowan Collins [IMSoP]
Modified: 2010-05-15 15:37 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Rowan Collins [IMSoP] 2005-04-25 23:33:39 UTC
Ævar has checked in a patch that changes "$wgDisableUploads=false;" to
"$wgEnableUploads=true;" (per bug 578). However, when upgrading a wiki, the
value will not be changed in the existing LocalSettings.php, so a wiki on which
uploads have already been enabled will find them switched back off (the default
value will not be overridden, as it has a different name). This contrasts with
previous upgrades, where [I believe] the settings remained valid.

Ideally, the installer should somehow check to see whether uploads are currently
enabled, and either change the appropriate line *for* the user, or, failing
that, make sure the user is aware that the change is necessary. I'm not sure
*how* to do this, exactly, but it's mighty confusing without it.

I guess a "last resort" is to make it very visible in the release notes that
this setting needs changing.
Comment 1 Ævar Arnfjörð Bjarmason 2005-04-25 23:37:27 UTC
Added a note about it in RELEASE-NOTES.
Comment 2 Ævar Arnfjörð Bjarmason 2005-04-26 17:39:36 UTC
Marking it as fixed.
Comment 3 Zigger 2005-06-11 07:56:47 UTC
The note in RELEASE-NOTES is within a list of "bugfixes, small features, and a
few experimental things".
Please add an appropriate notice to UPGRADE.
Comment 4 Brion Vibber 2005-06-16 07:04:21 UTC
There is indeed a notice in UPGRADE now.

Resolving FIXED.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links