Last modified: 2008-05-19 16:58:34 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 1601 - Section editing may revert previous edits
Section editing may revert previous edits
Status: RESOLVED WORKSFORME
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Page editing (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: High major with 4 votes (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?t...
:
: 3059 (view as bug list)
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2005-02-26 19:32 UTC by Leah
Modified: 2008-05-19 16:58 UTC (History)
3 users (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Leah 2005-02-26 19:32:18 UTC
Editing a section may frequently undo changes made to other sections.  This
affects sections which could never have been modified; i.e. editing section 10
may revert changes in section 7.
Comment 1 Andrew Bell (en:BesigedB) 2005-02-26 19:34:10 UTC
Whenever I've used the section editing feature and somebody else has made a
change, I've had an edit conflict. Could you explain how to reproduce this better?
Comment 2 Leah 2005-02-26 19:49:39 UTC
I encountered two edit conflicts in a series of edits, but that does not account
for all of the reversions.  See the history for [[Wikipedia:Cleanup]] to see
which sections were edited and which lines removed; try it for yourself if you like.
Comment 3 Alphax 2005-04-21 11:03:26 UTC
(In reply to comment #1)
> Whenever I've used the section editing feature and somebody else has made a
> change, I've had an edit conflict. Could you explain how to reproduce this better?

In a tabbed browser, edit two sections on the same page at once. The second edit
will revert the first one.
Comment 4 Rowan Collins [IMSoP] 2005-04-21 19:44:12 UTC
(In reply to comment #3)
> In a tabbed browser, edit two sections on the same page at once. The second edit
> will revert the first one.

The code is special-cased to ignore any edit conflict with yourself, to avoid
problems when someone clicks "save" twice. This may or may not be the cause of
bug 275, which is a pain in various parts of the anatomy, but it *is* a
deliberate feature. 

If you had multiple windows or tabs open, editting different sections, the last
one you clicked "save" on would indeed overwrite the others. The fact that this
affects text outside the editted section is unintuitive, but presumably a result
of the fact that the section has to be added back into the rest of the text
before the save goes through (otherwise, you'd end up with nothing but the
editted section).
Comment 5 Rowan Collins [IMSoP] 2005-05-25 20:27:42 UTC

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 1150 ***
Comment 6 Andre Engels 2005-12-23 07:43:40 UTC
This is not a duplicate of 1150, although it is related, and the same problem is
discussed there as well. It is quite likely that when there is a solution of bug
1150, this one still is broken. I therefore re-open this bug.
Comment 7 Andre Engels 2005-12-23 07:44:11 UTC
*** Bug 3059 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 8 Anders Wegge Jakobsen 2006-03-27 13:13:22 UTC
Running away in horror from this bug, and hopefully not screwing the CC list
totally up
Comment 9 Aaron Schulz 2008-05-16 20:15:56 UTC
Is this still occurring?
Comment 10 Sy Ali 2008-05-16 20:48:39 UTC
Steps to reproduce:

- Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US; rv:1.8.1.14) Gecko/20080404 Firefox/2.0.0.14
- Create a new page and edit it
- Make two sections:
  = Section One =
  = Section Two =
- Save the page
- control-click the 'edit' link for both sections, opening up two new tabs
- visit the first tab, add "foo", and save
- visit the second tab, add "bar", and save

Current Result: An edit conflict with the earlier "foo" edit.

Earlier Result: The page is saved, and only "bar" is seen.  This was probably MediaWiki 1.4 or 1.5.

Expected Result: No edit conflict, the second section is saved, and both sections remain, with the new "foo" and "bar" text.

While the original bug is no longer there, the expected result is not given.
Comment 11 Brion Vibber 2008-05-19 16:58:34 UTC
Following the given steps in comment #10 I receive the expected result: page is saved with automatic conflict resolution.

Note that if your server's system was unable to locate GNU diff3, you will get an edit conflict display because the infrastructure for the merge isn't present.

It may also be possible to get a conflict trigger if the page is so tiny that it got confused by completely adjacent lines -- for instance if you don't put line spacing between the raw section headers. Then diff3 isn't able to distinguish the sections for sure, and throws a conflict rather than guess wrong.

This is correct, if conservative behavior, and doesn't seem to be an issue in actual usage (where you get nice spacing).

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links