Last modified: 2008-06-13 14:29:43 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 14510 - Normal editors by default see stable version
Normal editors by default see stable version
Status: RESOLVED INVALID
Product: MediaWiki extensions
Classification: Unclassified
FlaggedRevs (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: Normal normal with 1 vote (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Aaron Schulz
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2008-06-11 20:15 UTC by Christoph Burgmer
Modified: 2008-06-13 14:29 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Christoph Burgmer 2008-06-11 20:15:59 UTC
Normal editors being logged into Mediawiki by default see the stable version (selecting e.g. 'Article'). I consider this a hugh usability bug as the task of editors is to actually review and edit articles, in contrast to the majority of anonymous users, that are manly interested in read access.

Receiving flagged revision rights  today I realised that the new button (between 'Article' and 'Discussion') vanishes, as now by default the newest version is shown. This is the old behaviour and should be given back to normal users. Especially considering that the majority of Wikipedians active for a long time still don't have the special rights:

1) long standing Wikipedians see an old history (more than just annoying),
2) new members waiting for the flag to revise articles also see an old version, though they log in to edit.

Long story short: restore the old view on articles, while keeping the feature for anonymous users. Getting used to the new tab is not an option. Thanks.
Comment 1 Aaron Schulz 2008-06-11 20:53:42 UTC
What version of FlaggedRevs is this? The default is for anyone logged in to see the current revision.
Comment 2 Melancholie 2008-06-11 21:01:08 UTC
@Christoph Burgmer: Did you change your preferences at [[de:Spezial:Einstellungen#prefsection-10]]?
Comment 3 Christoph Burgmer 2008-06-11 21:07:46 UTC
(In reply to comment #2)
> @Christoph Burgmer: Did you change your preferences at
> [[de:Spezial:Einstellungen#prefsection-10]]?

Sorry, didn't mention that.

I did: "Benutze für markierte Versionen die einfache Benutzerschnittstelle" is active, I remember to have tried all of them.

@Aaron: dewiki
I'm speaking of choosing the tabs manually.

Comment 4 Aaron Schulz 2008-06-12 00:53:30 UTC
I can't reproduce this. Seems to just be a custom preference setting.
Comment 6 Melancholie 2008-06-13 14:10:39 UTC
Hmm. I don't understand that screenshot. But maybe it is related what occured to me yesterday:

Sometimes (even for logged in users) a "draft" tab and a FlaggedRevs box telling that there is a newer, unsighted revision is shown due to a cache effect. The selected tab is the one showing "article" (stable=1; #ca-stable) then. First thought this would be because of a template change, but then the #ca-current (draft) tab would have had to be active for me. Article itself was changed days ago. Weird.
Comment 7 Christoph Burgmer 2008-06-13 14:23:27 UTC
Ok, for others reading this bug:

The tab "Entwurf" (i.e. non-stable) is superfluous for people with flag-rights, and even for normal signed-on editors.

Please note that I now have flag-rights so I can't check the behaviour for new users. I don't know weather the code treats these two user groups differently, I believe it shouldn't. That's the reason I created this bug.

I altered another actually already audited article just recently and it was then shown with &stable=0 appended to the URL including the superfluous tab.

Comment 8 Aaron Schulz 2008-06-13 14:29:43 UTC
I'm still seeing the draft be default. I created a new account on .de and it is still the same expected behavior. New and old users are not treated any different, and are not supposed to be as it is set up.

Unneeded tab issues should be started in a new bug.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links