Last modified: 2014-07-27 20:03:33 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 33327 - Unclear scope of "Restore all default settings" button (resets settings in *all* tabs)
Unclear scope of "Restore all default settings" button (resets settings in *a...
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Special pages (Other open bugs)
1.22.0
All All
: Normal normal with 1 vote (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nemo
: easy
Depends on:
Blocks: messages
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2011-12-22 19:18 UTC by Saibo
Modified: 2014-07-27 20:03 UTC (History)
4 users (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Saibo 2011-12-22 19:18:42 UTC
"Restore all default settings" says it at https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/MediaWiki:Restoreprefs
 
The button appears ON every tab - but it resets the settings of ALL tabs instead. The button should there only once (I guess it is rarely used anyway) and have a much more clear wording what it does. → "Restore all default settings (in all settings sections)"
Comment 1 Krinkle 2011-12-27 22:17:36 UTC
Or we move the save and reset button to the top right of the form :O
Comment 2 Saibo 2011-12-27 23:59:44 UTC
(In reply to comment #1)
> Or we move the save and reset button to the top right of the form :O

On top doesn't sound too bad. But people do not like changes. ;-)

I just had a look in my KDE settings: reset and save is usual on bottom - but there is a <hr /> above the buttons and the background also doesn't suggest that the buttons belong to the current tab.
Comment 3 Dan Jacobson 2013-04-18 02:02:45 UTC
The user is faced with a "Restore all default settings" link at the bottom of each page of preferences.

The user is not clear if "all" means all of them on this page, or all of them on all pages.

The user dares not press the button out of fear that it will do more than he expects.

Please make the wording of the link clearer!
Comment 4 Dan Jacobson 2013-04-18 02:06:31 UTC
What is worse is that users with stylesheets turned off in their (Firefox) browser are immediately aware of the scope intentions of this link, whereas average users think it only applies to the current page they are viewing... one little click and all is lost!!!
Comment 5 Gerrit Notification Bot 2013-08-10 20:45:06 UTC
Change 78616 had a related patch set uploaded by Nemo bis:
Make restoreprefs crystal clear about the meaning of *all*

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/78616
Comment 6 Gerrit Notification Bot 2013-08-28 16:48:38 UTC
Change 78616 merged by jenkins-bot:
Make restoreprefs crystal clear about the meaning of *all*

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/78616

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links