Last modified: 2009-02-09 07:43:02 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 17052 - Misleading diffs involving revisions deleted through RevisionDelete
Misleading diffs involving revisions deleted through RevisionDelete
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Page deletion (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: Normal minor (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
Depends on:
Blocks: 15644
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2009-01-17 17:50 UTC by Happy-melon
Modified: 2009-02-09 07:43 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Happy-melon 2009-01-17 17:50:39 UTC
It is clearly not supposed to be possible to diff to a deleted revision that you can't view the content of, since the radio buttons on the history page are greyed out, as are the 'cur' / 'prev' links as applicable.  However, it is still possible to get a diff in a number of ways.  

Firstly, if the second-most-recent revision of a page is concealed, the radio button marker is still positioned on it by default (although if you move it, you can't put it back).  It should be a simple check on data that's already present to see if the second revision is deleted (the first can't be) and move the radio button default down one if so.  

Secondly, if you diff to the revision before a deleted one, the "next diff" link is still available, and takes you to the diff with the deleted revision.  

The problem with diffing to a deleted version is that the diff function silently returns a 'nothing changed' diff just like when you diff to a 'null' revision (eg a "this page was moved/protected" rev).  In this case, that's disingenous: it should not be allowed to present a diff involving content the user can't see, and an explanation of the issue should be provided. It seems fairly pointless to allow the diff but not allow it to contain any useful information.
Comment 1 Aaron Schulz 2009-02-09 07:43:02 UTC
Fixed in r47025

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links