Last modified: 2011-01-25 01:37:13 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 9884 - Grant "deletedhistory" permissions to CheckUser group
Grant "deletedhistory" permissions to CheckUser group
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Product: Wikimedia
Classification: Unclassified
General/Unknown (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: Normal enhancement with 4 votes (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2007-05-11 23:49 UTC by Alain Riazuelo
Modified: 2011-01-25 01:37 UTC (History)
4 users (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Alain Riazuelo 2007-05-11 23:49:48 UTC
I am checkuser on fr: wikipedia. In some cases, a request for checkuser is done
after a vandal's edit have been deleted (as they should be in some cases, i.e.,
for privacy issues or defamation). Deleted vandal edits prevent me from knowing
their usual vandalism pattern, since I am not sysop. This is annoying as it
prevents me from recognizing some "active" vandals. Several checkusers are not
sysops on fr: wikipedia. What would be therefore needed would be to grant to
checkusers access to deleted edits, without any other sysop's rights.
Comment 1 Rob Church 2007-05-11 23:52:10 UTC
Changing to site configuration issue.
Comment 2 Aaron Schulz 2007-05-12 01:00:17 UTC
Why aren't the checkuser's sysops?
Comment 3 Aryeh Gregor (not reading bugmail, please e-mail directly) 2007-05-13 00:56:48 UTC
Consensus is needed for this.  Please start a discussion on frwiki to get 
agreement for this and link to the result.
Comment 4 Manuel Menal 2007-05-13 14:53:18 UTC
Voice of All: Because they're two different tasks, and people are not always
interested in maintenance, hence in sysop tools. Alain is a member of the frwp
ArbCom, so he's trusted, but he's not a sysop (and doesn't want to be, AFAIK).

I'm a bit surprised by the summary change - AFAICS, granting "delete"
permissions to CU would allow them to delete pages, which should stay a
sysop-only right. CU should only be able to *see* deleted edits. Unfortunately,
I don't think there is a specific permission for that (deletedhistory only
allows seeing the history entries, not the revs). Could this be clarified before
a discussion is started?
Comment 5 Brion Vibber 2007-05-14 15:05:44 UTC
That is a maintenance task, hence sysop. Being sysop does not require that one
fight every single vandal.
Comment 6 Brion Vibber 2007-05-14 16:01:01 UTC
May deserve further discussion for read-only access to stuff. (Might require a
little coding per above notes about permissions not being wide enough to allow
viewing details without actual delete priv.)
Comment 7 Chad H. 2007-07-20 22:54:12 UTC
What about access to the new Special:Deletedcontributions?

They wouldn't be able to see the individual edits (because they're not sysops and can't open the deleted pages), but they could at least see *what* pages were being edited.
Comment 8 Aaron Schulz 2009-09-12 19:00:40 UTC
'deletedhistory' lets users browse sp:deletedcontributions
Comment 9 Aaron Schulz 2009-10-07 20:15:59 UTC
Done

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links