Last modified: 2007-04-02 11:13:36 UTC
When you upload a new version of an image, if you enter some text in the field
that would usually be used for the description, it goes in the upload summary.
Can it be changed (possibly a separate page for uploads that are gonna overwrite
files and then disable overwriting uploads from the main Special:Upload) so
there's a field for an upload summary and a separate one for the description? If
the description part is blank in the overwriting upload, it won't overwrite the
old description and if it isn't, it will.
I think it would be easier if the "Upload warning" page with the two button "save file" and "re-upload" will
also have checkbox with an option to overwrite the current page description if "save file" is chosen.
*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 4636 ***