Last modified: 2004-11-20 02:42:00 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 914 - Editing a deleted page, (even to mark it for deletion), recreates that page
Editing a deleted page, (even to mark it for deletion), recreates that page
Status: RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 232
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Page editing (Other open bugs)
unspecified
PC Linux
: Normal minor (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2004-11-20 02:32 UTC by Nathan Kennedy
Modified: 2004-11-20 02:42 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Nathan Kennedy 2004-11-20 02:32:25 UTC
I noticed this when doing RC patrol on Wikipedia.  Normally, when submitting
edits to a page, you are warned if your edits are based on an outdated version
of the page, thus alerting you if your changes would be inadvertently reverting
another persons recently submitted edits.

However, if the page is DELETED while you are working on the edits, no warning
is given.  The page is simply recreated with the content you submit.  This is
bad, because whenever a user creates nonsense, many users will notice it and
mark it for speedy deletion, and if an admin sees it s/he will delete it--all of
which can take place simultaneously.  But what can happen (and has happened to
me), is that an admin will delete the page at the same time I am adding the
'{{delete}}' tag to the page, so when I submit it, the page comes back, albeit
with the "Speedy deletion" notice, whereas if I knew it had been deleted I would
not have wanted to submit it.

It shouldn't be too hard to have the server remember whether a user is was
creating a new page or editing an existing page and check for consistency when
the form is submitted, and warning if the page has been deleted.  This could
either be cached on the server or embedded in the form itself.
Comment 1 Brion Vibber 2004-11-20 02:42:00 UTC

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 232 ***

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links