Last modified: 2007-09-11 18:54:16 UTC
When deleting images the previous generated thumbnails are still available via
their absolute URL:
was deleted on 14th Feb. 2007 as copyvio but
is still available (at least at writing this bug).
If not too expensive please call the purge function at time of deleting the image.
The purge function is called at delete time.
There are currently issues with the specific additional thumbnail
storage layer for commons.
*** Bug 9949 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
*** Bug 10686 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
I believe we've got this one sorted out now; thumb requests for sizes that aren't available (due to being at or larger than the original file size) used to be incorrectly served out and then saved onto the thubmnail cache server used for Commons.
This file would never get purged through the automatic system since it wasn't present on the master server.
The invalid requests no longer return a 200 OK code, so they don't get saved onto the thumb server; thus they won't get stuck like this anymore.