Last modified: 2011-03-13 18:06:15 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 854 - Special:Undelete may show incorrect log extract (1.3-specific)
Special:Undelete may show incorrect log extract (1.3-specific)
Status: RESOLVED WONTFIX
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Special pages (Other open bugs)
1.3.x
All All
: Lowest minor (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2004-11-10 04:57 UTC by Faraaz Damji
Modified: 2011-03-13 18:06 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Faraaz Damji 2004-11-10 04:57:09 UTC
When viewing a page that has been previously deleted (such as <a
href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia">[[Wikipedia]]</a>), clicking the
view/restore edits link will show a different title.  For example, at this
writing it says "04:32, 10 Nov 2004 Frazzydee deleted Wikipedia:Sandbox/Sigh
(argh)".

Steps to Reproduce:
1) Create a page, then delete it (or find a page to use from <a
href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia%3ADeletion%20log">[[Wikipedia:Deletion
log]]</a>)
2) Create another page with the first page's name in it (for example if the
first page is "blah", the second page can be blah<b>adkfj</b>,
<b>aksjdfkasjdf</b>blah<b>asdjf</b>, etc.)
3) Delete the second page
4) Go to the view/restore edits link for <i>the first page</i>

Actual Results:
The username of whoever deleted the second page, as well as the second page's
name are displayed.  The date is also wrong.  It shows when the time/date that
the second page was deleted.

Expected results:
When clicking "view/restore edits" on the first page, it shows the username of
whoever deleted the first page, the title of the first page, and the time the
first page was deleted.

I do not have sysop access on test.wikipedia, so I cannot check if this bug
applies in the latest version.
Comment 1 Brion Vibber 2004-11-10 06:44:24 UTC
Are you talking about the listed page history, or the line extracted from the deletion log?

The listed page history (these are links you can follow to each archived revision of the page) should 
be correct. If that's not correct, please provide more info.

If you mean the extracted line from the deletion log, this is a very inexact science. 1.4 uses a 
different log system which is not susceptible to this.
Comment 2 Faraaz Damji 2004-11-10 13:31:52 UTC
> Are you talking about the listed page history, or the line extracted from the deletion log?

I'm talking about what is shown when you go to [[Special:Undelete/Firstpage]]
Comment 3 Faraaz Damji 2004-11-10 14:07:35 UTC
I see my html didn't work.  Here are steps to reproduce that are easier to follow.

1) Create a page, then delete it (or find a page to use from [[Wikipedia:Deletion
log]])
2) Create another page with the first page's name in it (for example if the
first page is [[blah]], the second page can be blah'''adkfj''',
'''aksjdfkasjdf'''blah'''asdjf''', etc.)
3) Delete the second page
4) Go to the view/restore edits link for ''the first page'' (so in this case, 
[[Special:Undelete/Blah]])
Comment 4 Faraaz Damji 2004-11-10 14:11:12 UTC
2) Create another page with the first page's name in it (for example if the
first page is [[blah]], the second page can be [[blahadkfj]],
[[aksjdfkasjdfblahasdjf]], etc.)

to see this bug in action, go to [[Special:Undelete/Wikipedia]]
Comment 5 Brion Vibber 2004-11-10 20:38:25 UTC
Yes, that's just the log extract line. The history shows only correct items, as far as I can tell.
Comment 6 Faraaz Damji 2004-11-14 17:57:39 UTC
The problem may also occur if the page contains the username of the person who
deleted it...see [[Angela]] and [[Special:Undelete/Angela]].
Comment 7 Brion Vibber 2005-04-21 10:09:44 UTC
1.3 branch no longer maintained; 1.4 uses different system which doesn't have this bug.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links