Last modified: 2011-03-13 18:04:35 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 8197 - 'Delete' should be displayed instead of 'rollback' when there's only one editor
'Delete' should be displayed instead of 'rollback' when there's only one editor
Status: RESOLVED WONTFIX
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
History/Diffs (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: Lowest enhancement (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2006-12-09 09:32 UTC by Guillaume Paumier
Modified: 2011-03-13 18:04 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Guillaume Paumier 2006-12-09 09:32:35 UTC
Hello,

The rollback feature (whose button is displayed in histories, diffs and one's
contribs) doesn't work when there is only one user who has edited the page.
Thus, why not replacing the 'rollback' button by a 'delete' one in this case?
That would avoid getting the error message « Rollback failed » and would make
the cleaning faster.
Comment 1 Aryeh Gregor (not reading bugmail, please e-mail directly) 2006-12-10 02:16:48 UTC
In the same place and all?  I'd expect that to be disorienting if someone
absentmindedly tries to roll back a user and gets the delete button instead.
Comment 2 Guillaume Paumier 2006-12-10 08:11:53 UTC
In my mind, if you want to revert one's contribs to an article, it's because
those contribs aren't relevant. If those non-relevant contribs have been done on
a new page, it seems to me the right thing to do to clean up the wiki is to
delete the page.

And « if someone absentmindedly tries to roll back a user », I hope he would
still make the difference between a button called 'rollback' and a button called
'delete'...
Comment 3 Rob Church 2006-12-10 08:45:29 UTC
I'm inclined to agree that the delete link would be useful here. There's an
additional confirmation step in deleting that doesn't occur when doing a
rollback, so some sanity is assured.
Comment 4 Aaron Schulz 2008-09-17 18:17:32 UTC
Not worth the performance hit.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links