Last modified: 2006-08-08 04:55:02 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 6945 - Pending Modifications Destroyed When I Press Alt-E.
Pending Modifications Destroyed When I Press Alt-E.
Status: RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 477
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Page editing (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: High minor (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2006-08-08 04:45 UTC by Joel Luellwitz
Modified: 2006-08-08 04:55 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Joel Luellwitz 2006-08-08 04:45:11 UTC
This is really a feature request but I am marking this minor severity because I
frequently loose (new) data because of MediaWiki's default behavior.

I know this is not the most efficient keyboard shortcut but I have been using
Alt-E to access the edit menu to perform cut, copy and paste operations for the
last ten years.  I use that key combination without even thinking about it. 
However, only in MediaWiki does this keyboard combination destroy any
modifications I have made so far.  I frequently loose serveral minutes worth of
edits when I press Alt-E.

To resolve this situation, I would like a preference to disable the Alt-e
shortcut to edit the current page.  Other possible corrective actions could be
to disable this keyboard shortcut while the user is editing a page or MediaWiki
could prompt the user to make sure the keyboard conbination was really the
intended action.

Please modify this behavior so I do not keep loosing data.
Comment 1 Aryeh Gregor (not reading bugmail, please e-mail directly) 2006-08-08 04:55:02 UTC

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 477 ***

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links