Last modified: 2011-03-13 18:06:45 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 6431 - On Special:Undelete the old Versions should all be selected by default
On Special:Undelete the old Versions should all be selected by default
Status: RESOLVED WONTFIX
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Special pages (Other open bugs)
1.7.x
All All
: Lowest normal (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2006-06-24 23:52 UTC by Schnargel
Modified: 2011-03-13 18:06 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Schnargel 2006-06-24 23:52:03 UTC
When not restoring all Versions on Special:Undelete usually just some problematic are not to be restored but the vast majority is. The default 
behaviour when undeleting a page is to restore all Versions anyway.

Therefore it would make sense to have all Versions' chechboxes be checked by default so the user has only to deselect just the few bad versions 
instead of having to click hundreds of good ones.
Comment 1 Rob Church 2006-06-24 23:53:57 UTC
As it stands, if no revisions are selected, then the software restores all
revisions; the SQL to do this is simpler and less taxing than if the software
restored all revisions using specified individual timestamps.

An improved deletion mechanism is planned; please search this bug tracker before
posting further.
Comment 2 Brion Vibber 2006-06-24 23:55:51 UTC
Please note that that's not the proper way to remove items 
from a page's history -- they will get restored the next time 
someone tries this trick, defeating your efforts.

If items *must* be removed due to privacy or legal reasons, 
this is what the Oversight/Hide Revision extension is for.
Comment 3 Schnargel 2006-06-25 00:11:47 UTC
(In reply to comment #1)
It wasn't meant as a change to the SQL-handling but as an enhancement for user friendlyness and something to happen just on the HTML/JS/
PHP-Level for the user interaction. At the moment it is most likely that if someone does not want to restore all Versions that he most likely 
wants to have nearly all chechboxes selected.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links