Last modified: 2008-09-11 07:20:17 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 5986 - Undeleting a page that was protected when deleted should cause it to be reprotected
Undeleting a page that was protected when deleted should cause it to be repro...
Status: RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 12343
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
History/Diffs (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: Normal enhancement with 2 votes (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
: 6202 (view as bug list)
Depends on: 4145
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2006-05-16 19:10 UTC by James F.
Modified: 2008-09-11 07:20 UTC (History)
2 users (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description James F. 2006-05-16 19:10:40 UTC
Now that protection changes show up in the history (which makes sort-of sense),
could the deletion and undeletion of a page with such history entries have the
desired effect on the page's protection status? For example, when undeleting a
page with some entries one of which makes it move-protected selected, the
newly-undeleted page should also be move-protected.

Not sure if deletion/undeletion makes absolute sense, but it's the logical
extension of having the protection settings' settings shown in the history (at
least, I just /tried/ to do it, expecting that behaviour).
Comment 1 Rob Church 2006-05-16 19:44:39 UTC
Protection status isn't stored with deleted content. If bug 4145 were
implemented, we could store it there, although we might face issues where
recreated pages were protected.

One workaround might be to wipe the protection status when the page is being
created (during EditPage::attemptSave()) and ignore restrictions on pages which
don't exist. This would, however stop us implementing nice unwiki features such
as preventing a page from being created, at least based around the protection tool.
Comment 2 Rob Church 2006-06-05 14:47:47 UTC
*** Bug 6202 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 3 flcelloguy 2006-06-05 21:23:31 UTC
(In reply to comment #1)
> Protection status isn't stored with deleted content. If bug 4145 were
> implemented, we could store it there, although we might face issues where
> recreated pages were protected.
> 
> One workaround might be to wipe the protection status when the page is being
> created (during EditPage::attemptSave()) and ignore restrictions on pages which
> don't exist. This would, however stop us implementing nice unwiki features such
> as preventing a page from being created, at least based around the protection
tool.


By the way, something similar to this: when a page is moved, the protection
history doesn't move with it. Thus, when someone clicks protect and finds that
it is already protected, s/he will see nothing in the log displayed if the
article was first protected under the former title. It would make sense to
change this, since the protection is of the current page, regardless of the title.
Comment 4 Aaron Schulz 2008-09-11 07:20:17 UTC

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 12343 ***

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links