Last modified: 2006-04-29 22:01:43 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 5716 - Warn when a user tries to upload a file which was previously deleted
Warn when a user tries to upload a file which was previously deleted
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Uploading (Other open bugs)
1.6.x
All Linux
: Normal normal with 4 votes (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Rob Church
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2006-04-25 22:58 UTC by Daniel Arnold
Modified: 2006-04-29 22:01 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Daniel Arnold 2006-04-25 22:58:35 UTC
Often people transfer an image from a local Wikimedia wiki to Wikimedia Commons that has been deleted 
previous in Wikimedia Commons due to copyright problems. Thus around 30% of all worked up deletions need 
to be repeated at least one time (very often even three times and more). This causes quite some 
maintenance overhead for the very tiny group of active Wikimedia Commons maintainers and of course also 
frustration on all sides.

Most of the uploaders that did reupload an already deleted image are not malicious but simply were not 
aware of the problems with that file (eg. because the file was wrongly tagged PD in the local project) 
and of course copyright and proper free licensing is no easy matter. So if uploaders get a small warning 
at upload of an already deleted file they would be alerted of the problem and would stop uploading it.

So it would be very helpful for Wikimedia Commons (not to mention the reduction of frustration on all 
sides because less files need to be deleted then) if there would be an additional warning with cancel and 
continue button (like the messages when overwriting existing files and so forth) in case someone does 
upload an already deleted image. This is technically possible as the image page does not really get 
deleted but is just made invisible for average users. So it would be technically possible checking at 
image upload in MediaWiki with a simple SQL query if an "deleted" image page with the same name as the 
file you want to upload exists and give a warning in case there are identical names (customizable warning 
like all other interface strings and pages via a MediaWiki:-page).

Of course this solution would as well helpful for all other public MediaWiki installations that allow 
image upload.
Comment 1 Rob Church 2006-04-29 22:01:43 UTC
Added in SVN trunk, r13941.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links