Last modified: 2013-05-02 20:14:37 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 5415 - Hide the edit summary in Undelete for non-sysops, then grant "deletedhistory" to every user
Hide the edit summary in Undelete for non-sysops, then grant "deletedhistory"...
Status: RESOLVED WONTFIX
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Interface (Other open bugs)
1.6.x
All All
: Lowest normal with 2 votes (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
http://mail.wikipedia.org/pipermail/w...
: patch, patch-need-review
: 5237 (view as bug list)
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2006-03-31 18:35 UTC by Rotem Liss
Modified: 2013-05-02 20:14 UTC (History)
5 users (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments
Patch for edit summaries (4.14 KB, patch)
2006-03-31 19:30 UTC, Rotem Liss
Details
Patch for permissions - option 1 (1.21 KB, patch)
2006-03-31 19:41 UTC, Rotem Liss
Details
Patch for permissions - option 2 (1.23 KB, patch)
2006-03-31 19:42 UTC, Rotem Liss
Details
Patch for permissions - option 3 (1.43 KB, patch)
2006-03-31 19:42 UTC, Rotem Liss
Details

Description Rotem Liss 2006-03-31 18:35:05 UTC
I suggest to hide the edit summary in the page Undelete when shown to
non-sysops, so they will be able to see the deletion log, who edited the page
and when - but not the content of the edits, or the edit summaries.

Then I have three suggestions:
1. To grant the permission "deletedhistory" to every user (*).
2. To grant the permission "deletedhistory" to every registered user (user).
3. To grant the permission "deletedhistory" to every autoconfirmed user
(autoconfirmed).

I will create a patch for the edit summary, and a patch for each suggestion, soon.
Comment 1 Rotem Liss 2006-03-31 19:30:30 UTC
Created attachment 1489 [details]
Patch for edit summaries

This patch edits the following files:
* includes/SpecialUndelete.php - uses an "if" to decide whether to show the
summary or not.
* languages/Messages.php - updates "undeletehistorynoadmin" to be more exact,
and to say that they also cannot view the edit summaries.
* languages/MessagesHe.php - same as Messages.php, and also matches
"viewdeletedpage" to "undeletepage" - not connected, but should be done for
uniformity.

Now I will create a patch for every option.
Comment 2 Rotem Liss 2006-03-31 19:41:46 UTC
Created attachment 1490 [details]
Patch for permissions - option 1
Comment 3 Rotem Liss 2006-03-31 19:42:27 UTC
Created attachment 1491 [details]
Patch for permissions - option 2
Comment 4 Rotem Liss 2006-03-31 19:42:56 UTC
Created attachment 1492 [details]
Patch for permissions - option 3
Comment 5 Rotem Liss 2006-03-31 19:44:09 UTC
Please check in the first patch, then choose among the second, third and fourth.
Comment 6 Melancholie 2006-04-04 10:01:38 UTC
*** Bug 5237 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 7 Melancholie 2006-04-04 10:05:21 UTC
Because I think (*) means anonymous users (IPs), I consider my bug 
5237 ["Reactivate the permission for public history views of 
deleted revisions (but without edit summaries)"] as a full 
duplicate of this one.
Comment 8 Rotem Liss 2006-04-04 10:08:48 UTC
(In reply to comment #7)
> Because I think (*) means anonymous users (IPs), I consider my bug 
> 5237 ["Reactivate the permission for public history views of 
> deleted revisions (but without edit summaries)"] as a full 
> duplicate of this one.

"*" means every user.
Comment 9 Melancholie 2006-04-04 11:36:02 UTC
Yes, I wanted to write "...means *also* anonymous users..."
So option 1 (Patch #2) would be my favourite.
Comment 10 Mike.lifeguard 2008-11-22 19:29:59 UTC
This seems inordinately stagnant. I assume the patches won't apply cleanly any longer. As this is perhaps a controversial change (and was discussed only for enwiki), I'd suggest closing this pending further discussion. If then there is still a desire to implement this, rewrite things.
Comment 11 Alex Z. 2008-12-26 23:36:27 UTC
I don't think there's really any use for this now, and if there is, there would still need to be a way to assign the right to see summaries to groups other than sysop. Can be reopened if there is a reason to do this in the future.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links