Last modified: 2013-03-14 02:27:32 UTC
When a user (or IP) gets blocked, then the page shows at top still the button
"Edit page". When he clicks on the button, there is a message telling he's
blocked. Would it be possible to change the field name and behaviour to "View
source", so that a blocked user can still see the source?
Why? The user is still able to read articles, so I think it's not necessary to
show him that he's blocked when he doesn't try do edit.
*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 4990 ***
Due to caching requirements we can't do this.
Re-opening this for further consideration.
A few points:
* a half-decade has passed, so the caching situation may be different now;
* we might be able to do this only for logged-in users (but keep the current behavior for IP blocks and IP range blocks); and
* on smaller sites, the performance issues shouldn't be nearly as bad, so this may be something we can stick behind $wgMiserMode, to at least allow most wikis to behave sanely here.
Offering an "edit this page" tab and section edit links when we know the user is blocked is kind of insanely bad user interface/user experience.