Last modified: 2014-09-08 11:29:16 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 4765 - Default edit summary when editing old revision
Default edit summary when editing old revision
Status: NEW
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Page editing (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: Low enhancement with 1 vote (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2006-01-27 02:11 UTC by Borgx
Modified: 2014-09-08 11:29 UTC (History)
4 users (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Borgx 2006-01-27 02:11:51 UTC
Just like deleting, it would be nice if there is default edit summary when
reverting article (editing old revision). The default edit summary would be
"Revert to last version by old_version_username".

Notes:
+ old_revision_username : username who edit the old revision
+ This default edit summary can be made new system message for allowing
localisation (Revert to last version by $1)
Comment 1 Brion Vibber 2006-01-27 02:13:06 UTC
'last version' is probably not wise as it may not be the last one. :)
Popping in a specific date/time might be good though.
Comment 2 Borgx 2006-01-27 02:17:42 UTC
Good point. Another approach is to make date/time as variable which can be
supressed.

* Revert to revision $2 by $1
$1 : oldrevision_user_name
$2 : oldrevision_datetime
Comment 3 Lupin 2006-02-02 04:00:37 UTC
Won't this lead to misleading edit summaries when people edit an old revision
and change it but forget to change the summary?
Comment 4 Brion Vibber 2006-02-02 06:31:36 UTC
A more generic message would be better ('based on version by Blah at XX:YY:ZZ')
Comment 5 Borgx 2006-02-03 00:35:10 UTC
Another alternatif:

+In diff view, add new link "Rollback to this version" to the old revision title.

 "Revision as of 21:44, 2 Februariy 2006" [Rollback to this version]
 The proposed new system message in #2 can be used by this action without
compromising comment #3
Comment 6 Rob Church 2006-02-03 07:53:46 UTC
(In reply to comment #5)

I'd state that that's a whole other kettle of fish.
Comment 7 Nemo 2012-07-26 13:54:39 UTC
See also bug 38382.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links