Last modified: 2014-10-11 14:48:20 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 4636 - Overwriting a file loses new summary/description text
Overwriting a file loses new summary/description text
Status: NEW
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Uploading (Other open bugs)
1.11.x
All All
: Low minor with 6 votes (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
: 9480 10366 (view as bug list)
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2006-01-17 02:30 UTC by ekim
Modified: 2014-10-11 14:48 UTC (History)
6 users (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description ekim 2006-01-17 02:30:04 UTC
When uploading a file, if you use the same name as an old file and overwrite it,
the old summary text is kept. At least a warning would be nice.
Comment 1 Brion Vibber 2006-01-17 03:55:02 UTC
The problem is that the upload comment got overloaded as the initial text of 
the description page, and that entry field got made bigger and bigger to 
accommodate requests for more stuff.

Probably it should be separated into a standard one-line comment field and a 
description field. The description field can then be in some way or other dealt 
with explicitly (at least, hidden when you're telling it to overwrite an 
existing file from the beginning).
Comment 2 Rob Church 2007-04-02 11:13:37 UTC
*** Bug 9480 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 3 Raimond Spekking 2007-06-25 13:40:06 UTC
*** Bug 10366 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 4 Thehelpfulone 2012-05-07 10:40:58 UTC
Problem still occurs - the comment is visible in the file history of the new upload, but you can still see the old comment at http://test.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Useraccount_not_created.png for example.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links