Last modified: 2008-03-25 11:37:21 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 3231 - simultaneous page move revert bug
simultaneous page move revert bug
Status: RESOLVED WORKSFORME
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
General/Unknown (Other open bugs)
unspecified
PC All
: Highest major with 5 votes (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2005-08-22 23:30 UTC by Chris McKenna
Modified: 2008-03-25 11:37 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Chris McKenna 2005-08-22 23:30:45 UTC
If two or more administrators try to rollback the same page move at the same
time (which is commonon when dealing with Willy on Wheels style page move
vandalism) the article is deleted and is replaced with a redirect to itself.
One of the admins then has to delete the redirect and selectively undelete all
the revisions prior to the page move.
Comment 1 stux 2005-10-25 19:44:32 UTC
I'm sorry I don't know much about the internal details of the MediaWiki software
itself, but I'd still like to prose a solution to this bug: In the same way we
have an edit conflict error page, we could create a "page-move conflict" page. 
This would mean that when an admin is preparing to move a page, if any page
moves have suceeded between the time that the page move is initiated and the
process is complete, that admin gets a "Page Move conflict" error detailing what
transpired between the two events.  That way the admin has a chance to evaluate
what to do in the meantime.  I don't see this new code being that much different
from the "Edit Conflict" page.  Only page moves need be looked at, since edits
can occur before the move is complete without any serious repercussions.
Comment 2 Robert Leverington 2008-02-06 21:06:08 UTC
(In reply to comment #0)
> If two or more administrators try to rollback the same page move at the same
> time (which is commonon when dealing with Willy on Wheels style page move
> vandalism) the article is deleted and is replaced with a redirect to itself.
> One of the admins then has to delete the redirect and selectively undelete all
> the revisions prior to the page move.

I'm unable to replicate this in MediaWiki 1.12alpha revision 30649 - is this still an issue?
Comment 3 Robert Leverington 2008-03-25 11:37:21 UTC
No response from reporter, cannot replicate, closing WORKSFORME.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links