Last modified: 2006-08-28 17:13:59 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 2957 - reducing memory usage by summarising the changes of the same user
reducing memory usage by summarising the changes of the same user
Status: RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 7062
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
History/Diffs (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: Normal enhancement with 1 vote (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2005-07-25 07:47 UTC by bfyltuh02
Modified: 2006-08-28 17:13 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description bfyltuh02 2005-07-25 07:47:41 UTC
sometimes an article is changed by the same user several times, because he/she
doesnt use the preview. wouldnt it be better if the software summaries all
changes following after the first change of the same user, so that not every
change has to be saved. maybe a time limit should be added, so that after 6
hours the next change is saved explicit. the article has still protection
against vandalism, because no user will screw up his/her own changes.
alternativly to the limit, the software could summaries all minor changes of the
same user, following after a major change.

example:
a user makes a major change to an article and clicks save. than he notices a
little mistake, because he didnt use preview, and edits the article again(*).
the current software would save the (nearly) same article two times. with this
enhancement it would only save the last change.
the next day he has an idea how to completly rewrite the article. now the
software saves this change again, because the time limit of x hours has passed by.

(*) lets say the user checks the minor change option here, with the "summarise
minor change"-enhancement the software would save only the last change.
Comment 1 Richard Hartmann 2006-08-28 11:23:22 UTC
If this is optional, but enabled by default, it might be a Good Thing, yes.
Comment 2 Rob Church 2006-08-28 14:31:30 UTC
Sure this is a dupe. Fifty points and a cookie to the finder.
Comment 3 Aryeh Gregor (not reading bugmail, please e-mail directly) 2006-08-28 17:13:59 UTC
What kind of cookie?

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 7062 ***

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links