Last modified: 2012-06-10 20:22:41 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 26215 - mass suppression of deleted revisions
mass suppression of deleted revisions
Status: RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 20189
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Revision deletion (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: High enhancement (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2010-12-03 00:37 UTC by John Mark Vandenberg
Modified: 2012-06-10 20:22 UTC (History)
6 users (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description John Mark Vandenberg 2010-12-03 00:37:30 UTC
It would be nice to be able to suppression multiple revisions from the deleted history, as we can do with revisions in the public history.

We can select multiple deleted revisions, in order to selectively
restore revisions, but there is no button to mass suppress.

Currently the easiest way to suppress revisions is to undelete the page and then redelete the page.
Comment 1 Will H 2012-06-05 01:28:10 UTC
As an en.wiki oversighter, I must echo John. Deleted revisions can only be suppressed individually, by clicking del/undel.

Note that it is still possible to *restore* multiple revisions via checkboxing all of them, but not to delete. A "suppress selected revisions" button, little different to the "Del/undel selected revisions" one which appears in the history of pages in the public would - as far as I anticipate - resolve this issue completely. It is not resourceful to suppress revisions one by one and in principal it is completely unacceptable to restore material which should be suppressed, just so it can be done.

WH.
Comment 2 Will H 2012-06-10 16:06:46 UTC
Following conversation in #wikimedia-dev, I'd just like to stress how easily this could be resolved: it is already possible to check individual revisions and restore them with the "restore" button - I cannot imagine it would be too complicated to add a "suppress" button, obviously viewable to only those in the oversight group, which would bring the selected revisions forward to the standard Delete/undelete revisions page from which page suppressions are carried out.

WH.
Comment 3 Alex Monk 2012-06-10 19:38:09 UTC

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 20189 ***
Comment 4 Alex Monk 2012-06-10 19:52:15 UTC
I don't really understand how but apparently this is not actually a duplicate.
Comment 5 Alex Monk 2012-06-10 20:22:41 UTC
Re-marking as duplicate after some discussion.

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 20189 ***

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links