Last modified: 2014-04-24 15:14:43 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 2586 - Allow deleting the most recent version of an image
Allow deleting the most recent version of an image
Status: RESOLVED INVALID
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
File management (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: Low enhancement with 4 votes (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2005-06-28 19:15 UTC by David Benbennick
Modified: 2014-04-24 15:14 UTC (History)
3 users (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description David Benbennick 2005-06-28 19:15:41 UTC
It should be possible to delete only the most recent 
revision of an image.  When an image is vandalized, the 
current procedure is to revert, then delete the second-to-
last (vandalism) version.  This is suboptimal, as it 
leaves a phantom "Reverted to earlier revision" version in 
place.

The "Delete all revisions" link is redundant anyway, as it 
does the same thing as the "Delete" tab.  I suggest 
that "Delete all revisions" should be replaced with a 
regular "del".
Comment 1 db [inactive,noenotif] 2011-07-03 17:29:40 UTC
Suggest INVALID, because you also cannot delete the current version of a page.
Comment 2 TeleComNasSprVen 2014-04-24 02:09:23 UTC
Per comment #1, don't see the reason for this. Wiki pages are frequently vandalized and the most egregious cases are often RevisionDeleted AFTER the latest revision containing said vandalism has been rolled back. Why would it not be the same for files?

This should be marked INVALID and the second concern about the "delete all revisions" link can be filed as a separate bug.
Comment 3 Andre Klapper 2014-04-24 08:02:08 UTC
Closing as per comment 1 and comment 2.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links