Last modified: 2013-11-11 09:37:55 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 24700 - Update dialog shown when clicking on the special page tab after saving preferences
Update dialog shown when clicking on the special page tab after saving prefer...
Status: REOPENED
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Special pages (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: Low enhancement (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
: easy
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2010-08-06 19:00 UTC by Huji
Modified: 2013-11-11 09:37 UTC (History)
4 users (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Huji 2010-08-06 19:00:17 UTC
To reproduce:

1) Go to "my preferences", and click save button.
2) On this new page, you'll get a green message indicating that you've successfully updated your preferences. Now click on the "Special page" tab; you should expect to land on Special:Preferences. Instead, you land on Special:Preferences&success and the green message is shown again.

This causes confusion; by clicking on the special page tab, you're not updating preferences so you shouldn't get the green dialog.
Comment 1 Huji 2010-08-06 19:02:11 UTC
Suggested fix: Check if request mode is POST; don't show the green dialog if this is a GET request.
Comment 2 Huji 2010-08-06 19:08:52 UTC
Fixed with r70585.
Comment 3 Huji 2010-08-09 06:34:31 UTC
Reverted with r70746.
Comment 4 Fomafix 2011-12-30 20:03:09 UTC
At the moment the form is POSTed to /wiki/Special:Preferences. The server answers with 302 and redirects to /wiki/index.php?title=Special:Preferences&success=1

The server should answer with the preferences page with success box directly on the POST request.
Comment 5 Krinkle 2012-09-11 02:08:18 UTC
(In reply to comment #4)
> At the moment the form is POSTed to /wiki/Special:Preferences. The server
> answers with 302 and redirects to
> /wiki/index.php?title=Special:Preferences&success=1
> 
> The server should answer with the preferences page with success box directly on
> the POST request.

No, it should not. This is PRG[1], that is by design and on purpose with a redirect at the end.

The resulting page shows the preferences page, which should be a permalink to that. Refreshing manually or by a browser recovery should not re-submit the (potentially outdated) form information.

What could be done instead is write a core js module (always loaded) that submits through javascript. That way the submission does not occupy the browser window and the url never has to include "success=1". Instead, the callback handler would put up that message programmatically (probably through mw.notify, while at it).

As fallback for non-javascript it can stay as is (though it could be improved).

[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Post/Redirect/Get
Comment 6 Fomafix 2012-09-11 09:21:46 UTC
Ok, re-sumit the (potentially outdated) form information by refreshing the page or by browser recovery is a good argument against a simple POST.

When a new submit though JavaScript with mw.notify for notification is implemented, most users with JavaScript enabled don't use the browser submit anymore.

Of course, a fallback for non-JavaScript must exist. What about a page /w/index.php?title=Special:Preferences&success=1 with just a success message and without the preference settings? So the user has to load /wiki/Special:Preferences again for changing further settings. With this combination it not possible to have unsaved changed settings and a success message on the same screen, which is confusing.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links