Last modified: 2010-11-23 08:08:59 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 24699 - Upload wizard: Add upload confirmation
Upload wizard: Add upload confirmation
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Product: MediaWiki extensions
Classification: Unclassified
UploadWizard (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: Normal normal (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Neil Kandalgaonkar
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2010-08-06 18:59 UTC by Guillaume Paumier
Modified: 2010-11-23 08:08 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Guillaume Paumier 2010-08-06 18:59:13 UTC
- Upload page - Confirm all uploads succeeded (transfer and initial parse of files)- click to continue
Comment 1 Neil Kandalgaonkar 2010-11-17 22:02:42 UTC
Here's my interpretation of what this bug means to be implemented. This interacts with other things I'm trying to fix, too.

As always it helps to consider the cases where things fail.

- Each upload gets a second "status line" to explain what, if anything, has gone wrong with the upload.

- The "Upload and continue" button changes into an "Upload" button, that is to the bottom right of the widget. It goes directly underneath the spinner/checkmark/warning icons.

- When "Upload" is clicked, it disappears, and the uploads are kicked off.

- When uploads fail, a status line underneath the filename explains why, if possible. Like "File is corrupted!" or "Network problem" or "Unknown errors while uploading". Some failures are recoverable and some aren't, and that knowledge affects what options we give.

- If all uploads succeed, that space that was occupied by Upload is replaced with a large-size message with a continue button, like "All uploads succeeded. [ Continue ]"

- If no uploads succeed, but at least one of them is in a recoverable state  the lower-righthand space is replaced with a large-size message with a retry button, like "These uploads/This upload didn't work! [ Retry? ]"

- If the situation was mixed, we give the user two options, like this: "Some uploads didn't work, [ Retry ]? Or just [Continue]."

As it happens, this is exactly analogous to what happens on the Flickr Upload form, but was arrived at independently.
Comment 2 Neil Kandalgaonkar 2010-11-23 08:08:59 UTC
implemented in r77136

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links