Last modified: 2006-06-16 07:20:56 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 2438 - Prevent edit conflicts with "in use" warning
Prevent edit conflicts with "in use" warning
Status: RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 1510
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Page editing (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: Lowest enhancement with 1 vote (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?t...
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2005-06-17 16:44 UTC by Omegatron
Modified: 2006-06-16 07:20 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Omegatron 2005-06-17 16:44:22 UTC
When someone presses edit, a flag should be flipped so that if someone else
presses edit they get a simple notice at the top of the page that it MAY be in
use and when the edit button was pressed.  This will not prevent anyone from
editing, it will just suggest that they wait a bit.  Exactly like an inuse
template, but automatic.

When Person A presses "Edit", the flag is flipped. If Person B then presses
"Edit" they will see "Another user may be editing this page. The Edit button was
pressed at 15:23, May 30, 2005. You might want to wait a few minutes to avoid
edit conflicts." Every time Person A presses "Show preview", the message will be
updated and the timer will be reset.  (Refreshing Person B's screen at this
point will show "Another user may be editing this page.  The Show preview button
was last pressed at 15:26, May 30, 2005." instead.)  If Person A never saves
their page, the notice will disappear when the timer runs out.  The timer runs
out after x minutes since the last button press by Person A.

It should not indicate a potential conflict if you are editing two different
sections.

I noticed this is already done on moinmoinwiki.

See above URL for more discussion.
Comment 1 lɛʁi לערי ריינהארט 2005-06-17 21:48:10 UTC
Hallo!

I thing this is a wrong approach. What if person A just looks at the code but
never saves the page and person B is waiting. It is kind of "mental" deadlock.
Personaly I start editing on a problem , open dozens of other browsers (with or
without editing) and save after several hours.

At Nuka-Wiki I have experienced some weeks ago an implementation with the
notification that the page was *deleted* *since* edit was pressed. I thing this
makes more sense because it averts about *real* conflicts. The new button "Show
changes" allows anyway "diffs" *before* saving.

Regards Reinhardt [[user:gangleri]]
Comment 2 Omegatron 2005-06-18 00:43:30 UTC
> I thing this is a wrong approach. What if person A just looks at the code but
> never saves the page and person B is waiting. 

Sure.  But how often does this happen?  Edit conflicts themselves happen rarely,
but are very frustrating when they do.  I know personally I would see the
warning message and go do something else for five minutes and come back and see
if it is still there.  

> It is kind of "mental" deadlock.
> Personaly I start editing on a problem , open dozens of other browsers (with or
> without editing) and save after several hours.
> 
> At Nuka-Wiki I have experienced some weeks ago an implementation with the
> notification that the page was *deleted* *since* edit was pressed. I thing this
> makes more sense because it averts about *real* conflicts. 

That is a good reason, too.

> The new button "Show
> changes" allows anyway "diffs" *before* saving.

I don't know about this button.
Comment 3 Omegatron 2005-08-08 13:41:55 UTC
> It is kind of "mental" deadlock.

That's the whole point.
Comment 4 lɛʁi לערי ריינהארט 2005-10-03 17:10:03 UTC
compare with

bug 1510: Provide "edit warning" for pages when someone else has just started
editing
Comment 5 Brion Vibber 2005-10-03 20:09:49 UTC

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 1510 ***

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links