Last modified: 2006-04-04 11:02:42 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 1875 - Force preview on first save
Force preview on first save
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Page editing (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: Normal enhancement with 1 vote (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2005-04-11 20:41 UTC by Tom
Modified: 2006-04-04 11:02 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Tom 2005-04-11 20:41:24 UTC
I would like to have this option show up in two places:
1) The site settings php, allowing wiki owners to force all users to preview on
first edit
2) User settings: Some people forget to preview and need to have a forced
reminder :P
2a) Ability for it to be a user setting, but site default to "on" or "off" due
to some setting in the site settings php.

This way, admins could say "you have to preview", user could say "I want to
preview", or admin could guide people to forced preview, but allow them to take
off the training wheels when ready.
Comment 1 Brian Jason Drake 2005-12-23 06:27:41 UTC
What would be better is either a preview that updates while you're working on the 
wikitext, or a WYSIWYG editor. Unfortunately, I can't see how this can be done 
except with external editors.

There should be a way of having a link in every preview to toggle forced preview; 
this link could be shown or hidden using skins.

Why is this a high priority?
Comment 2 Rob Church 2006-04-04 11:02:42 UTC
There is a user preference which produces a reminder upon blank edit summaries
now available in SVN HEAD, which will be available in 1.6.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links