Last modified: 2005-02-17 13:54:12 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 1549 - Removing Category:link from page has no effect on category listing
Removing Category:link from page has no effect on category listing
Status: RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 632
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
History/Diffs (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: High normal (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2005-02-17 12:41 UTC by Brian Collins
Modified: 2005-02-17 13:54 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description Brian Collins 2005-02-17 12:41:50 UTC
Using 1.4beta6. When removing the [[Category:Whatever]] link from a page it still shows up in 
the "Whatever" category listing. I guess this is because the old page remains in the history/diff. 
The only way i could get rid of the page from the "Whatever" category listing is to delete the page 
(after copying the source minus the [[Category:Whatever]] link), logout as SysOP (as undeletes are 
not possible then i guess), login again, then create the page again from the saved source.

Is there a simpler way for SysOPs to *permanently* delete a *page revision*? If it's in the making 
for the next version that's cool too.
Comment 1 Zigger 2005-02-17 13:54:12 UTC
Modifying the category page is another way to force deleted article listings to
be droppped.
Adding &action=purge to the URL might also work, but I haven't tried that yet.

For information on deleting revisions, see:
  http://meta.wikimedia.org/wiki/Help:Administration
 
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Viewing_and_restoring_deleted_pages_by_sysops


*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 632 ***

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links