Last modified: 2008-01-15 21:17:53 UTC
This is a feature request rather than a bug against a specific part of the software.
Sometimes sensitive, slanderous, etc. information is in images rather than in text.
Admins can see deleted images just as they can see deleted text. I believe currently it requires developer/DB direct intervention to make a deleted image not visible to admins.
The feature request is to: Extend oversight functionality (conceptually) to images, so that (versions of) images that have been (conceptually) "oversighted" are not visible to admins, just as oversighted text revisions are not visible to admins. This should be able to be applied to all versions of the image, not just versions after the first, and even if there is only one version of the image.
I recognise that images are handled differently than text so the implementation may be essentially a completely new implementation, but for ease of use, having the UI be similar would be useful. It is suggested that the same group ("oversighters") have access to this that has access to text/revision oversight. However a new group COULD be created, I suppose. I think that might be not as good a choice.
*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 8196 ***