Last modified: 2011-03-13 18:04:38 UTC

Wikimedia Bugzilla is closed!

Wikimedia has migrated from Bugzilla to Phabricator. Bug reports should be created and updated in Wikimedia Phabricator instead. Please create an account in Phabricator and add your Bugzilla email address to it.
Wikimedia Bugzilla is read-only. If you try to edit or create any bug report in Bugzilla you will be shown an intentional error message.
In order to access the Phabricator task corresponding to a Bugzilla report, just remove "static-" from its URL.
You could still run searches in Bugzilla or access your list of votes but bug reports will obviously not be up-to-date in Bugzilla.
Bug 12524 - users should be able to see / review all the contributions they made; including the deleted ones
users should be able to see / review all the contributions they made; includi...
Status: RESOLVED WONTFIX
Product: MediaWiki
Classification: Unclassified
Special pages (Other open bugs)
unspecified
All All
: Lowest major with 1 vote (vote)
: ---
Assigned To: Nobody - You can work on this!
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2008-01-06 01:00 UTC by lɛʁi לערי ריינהארט
Modified: 2011-03-13 18:04 UTC (History)
4 users (show)

See Also:
Web browser: ---
Mobile Platform: ---
Assignee Huggle Beta Tester: ---


Attachments

Description lɛʁi לערי ריינהארט 2008-01-06 01:00:06 UTC
Dear friends,

The contributions at most of the installed wikis are done as a voluntary act. It is / it should be selfevident that users can see / review all the contributions they made.

This is such a basic principle of cooperation between people that I wonder that this issue was not addressed so far ans should be no matter of discussions.

Please remember the comments at http://bugzilla.wikimedia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=851#c3
bug 000851 when viewing an old version of a page, use old version of templates

The contributions are context / system dependent but contributions are basically "plain text" and their significance is something "imaginary" (a reaction in the systen).

The request asks only to see the text revisions. I assume that a preview would be sufficient becase a save would conflict with community policies.

Thanks for all your efforts about implementing this request / bug report.

Best regards Reinhardt [[user:Gangleri]]
Comment 1 Aaron Schulz 2008-01-06 01:02:45 UTC
This would let users be able to access hidden/non-public items and would thus be a security issue.
Comment 2 lɛʁi לערי ריינהארט 2008-01-06 01:17:35 UTC
(In reply to comment #1)
> This would let users be able to access hidden/non-public items and would thus
> be a security issue.

It would let users to see "their" own contributions; all of them.
Comment 3 lɛʁi לערי ריינהארט 2008-01-06 01:34:11 UTC
Dear "Voice of yourself";

You will not get medals when deciding about an Mediawiki issue of such importance as requestet hete in less then ten minutes.

You should observe the rules that you may comment, present your arguments but taht's it.
Comment 4 Roan Kattouw 2008-01-06 09:37:19 UTC
(In reply to comment #3)
> Dear "Voice of yourself";
> 
> You will not get medals when deciding about an Mediawiki issue of such
> importance as requestet hete in less then ten minutes.
> 
> You should observe the rules that you may comment, present your arguments but
> taht's it.
> 

Voice of All isn't just speaking for himself: I think this is a bad idea as well, as deleted stuff is supposed to be (...surprise) deleted and invisible for unprivileged users. There is a reason why viewing deleted revisions is restricted to sysops. Also, I think many of the core developers (Voice of All is one of them) agree.
Comment 5 AlexSm 2008-01-16 16:17:46 UTC
May I reopen this bug with a new request? 

Users should be able to see at least _the_list_ of their deleted edits (not the actual content). It's sometimes very frustrating when stuff disappears and you don't remember exactly where it was. 

This feature would also make speedy deletions a lot less confusing for new editors.

Comment 6 Majorly 2008-01-16 16:37:21 UTC
I don't know why Aaron closed this so quickly. Perhaps he misunderstood... it's to let users review their *own* deleted edits. How would it be a security issue, if they could see what they already knew? They can already see the number of deleted edits through other tools; I fail to see how this would be problematic.
Comment 7 Aaron Schulz 2008-01-16 21:06:24 UTC
(In reply to comment #6)
> I don't know why Aaron closed this so quickly. Perhaps he misunderstood... it's
> to let users review their *own* deleted edits. How would it be a security
> issue, if they could see what they already knew? They can already see the
> number of deleted edits through other tools; I fail to see how this would be
> problematic.
> 

Say a user edits section C of a page. The text stored for that revision is the whole page. If it was deleted, the user can still see sections A,B,D ect...since the edit counts as their own. They would be able to see the whole revision of the page. Besides, "deleted" should actually mean "deleted" rather than some incoherent mesh of "sort of deleted but users can see revisions of pages they edited".

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.


Navigation
Links